In baseball, a sacrifice bunt (also called a sacrifice hit) is a batter's act of deliberately bunting the ball, before there are two outs, in a manner that allows a runner on base to advance to another base. The batter is almost always sacrificed (and to a certain degree that is the intent of the batter) but sometimes reaches base due to an error or fielder's choice. In that situation, if runners still advance bases, it is still scored a sacrifice bunt instead of the error or the fielder's choice. Sometimes the batter may safely reach base by simply outrunning the throw to first; this is not scored as a sacrifice bunt but rather a single.

Property Value
dbo:abstract
  • In baseball, a sacrifice bunt (also called a sacrifice hit) is a batter's act of deliberately bunting the ball, before there are two outs, in a manner that allows a runner on base to advance to another base. The batter is almost always sacrificed (and to a certain degree that is the intent of the batter) but sometimes reaches base due to an error or fielder's choice. In that situation, if runners still advance bases, it is still scored a sacrifice bunt instead of the error or the fielder's choice. Sometimes the batter may safely reach base by simply outrunning the throw to first; this is not scored as a sacrifice bunt but rather a single. A successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat, does not impact a player's batting average, and counts as a plate appearance. However, unlike a sacrifice fly, a sacrifice bunt does not count against a player in determining on-base percentage. If the official scorer believes that the batter was attempting to bunt for a base hit and not solely to advance the runners, the batter is charged an at bat and is not credited with a sacrifice bunt. In leagues without a designated hitter, sacrifice bunts are most commonly attempted by pitchers, who are typically not productive hitters. Managers consider that if a pitcher's at bat will probably result in an out, they might as well go out in a way most likely to advance the runners. The play also obviates the need for the pitcher to run the base paths, and hence avoids the risk of injury. Some leadoff hitters also bunt frequently in similar situations and may be credited with a sacrifice, but as they are often highly skilled bunters and faster runners, they are often trying to get on base as well as advance runners. A sacrifice bunt attempted while a runner is on third is called a squeeze play. A sacrifice bunt attempted while a runner on third is attempting to steal home is called a suicide squeeze. Although a sacrifice bunt is not the same as a sacrifice fly, both fell under the same statistical category until 1954. In scoring, a sacrifice bunt may be denoted by SH, S, or occasionally, SAC. (en)
  • 犠牲バント(ぎせいバント)とは、野球で、打者がアウトになる代わりに、走者を進塁させることを目的としたバントのことである。公認野球規則9.08により定められている。英語ではSacrifice buntという。 走者を次塁に「送る」ことから送りバントとも呼ばれる。また、三塁走者を本塁に生還させる犠牲バントは特にスクイズプレイと呼ばれ、送りバントとは区別される。 (ja)
  • 犧牲打,是一種棒球進攻戰術,主要是捨棄掉一個出局數來換取壘包的推進。 當一壘有人出局數無人出局時或一出局時,本壘的打者可以用一壘壘包方向的觸擊、讓自己出局、一壘跑者推進上得點圈,或是讓二壘的跑者推進到三壘。另一種犧牲打是屬於無人出局或一人出局三壘有人,本壘的打者可以將球向一壘壘包方向觸擊、讓自己出局、將三壘跑者送回本壘得分。 (zh)
dbo:wikiPageID
  • 300750 (xsd:integer)
dbo:wikiPageLength
  • 6952 (xsd:integer)
dbo:wikiPageRevisionID
  • 986037981 (xsd:integer)
dbo:wikiPageWikiLink
dbp:wikiPageUsesTemplate
dct:subject
rdf:type
rdfs:comment
  • 犠牲バント(ぎせいバント)とは、野球で、打者がアウトになる代わりに、走者を進塁させることを目的としたバントのことである。公認野球規則9.08により定められている。英語ではSacrifice buntという。 走者を次塁に「送る」ことから送りバントとも呼ばれる。また、三塁走者を本塁に生還させる犠牲バントは特にスクイズプレイと呼ばれ、送りバントとは区別される。 (ja)
  • 犧牲打,是一種棒球進攻戰術,主要是捨棄掉一個出局數來換取壘包的推進。 當一壘有人出局數無人出局時或一出局時,本壘的打者可以用一壘壘包方向的觸擊、讓自己出局、一壘跑者推進上得點圈,或是讓二壘的跑者推進到三壘。另一種犧牲打是屬於無人出局或一人出局三壘有人,本壘的打者可以將球向一壘壘包方向觸擊、讓自己出局、將三壘跑者送回本壘得分。 (zh)
  • In baseball, a sacrifice bunt (also called a sacrifice hit) is a batter's act of deliberately bunting the ball, before there are two outs, in a manner that allows a runner on base to advance to another base. The batter is almost always sacrificed (and to a certain degree that is the intent of the batter) but sometimes reaches base due to an error or fielder's choice. In that situation, if runners still advance bases, it is still scored a sacrifice bunt instead of the error or the fielder's choice. Sometimes the batter may safely reach base by simply outrunning the throw to first; this is not scored as a sacrifice bunt but rather a single. (en)
rdfs:label
  • Sacrifice bunt (en)
  • 犠牲バント (ja)
  • 犧牲觸擊 (zh)
owl:sameAs
prov:wasDerivedFrom
foaf:isPrimaryTopicOf
is dbo:wikiPageDisambiguates of
is dbo:wikiPageRedirects of
is dbo:wikiPageWikiLink of
is dbp:stat2label of
is dbp:stat5label of
is dbp:stat6label of
is foaf:primaryTopic of